13-Year-Old Makes Solar Power Breakthrough by Harnessing the Fibonacci Sequence

19 08 2011
by Andrew Michler, 08/18/11
 
 

tree inspired solar, boy solar invention, Aidan Dwyer, solar array, new solar array, solar tree, solar technology, biomimicry solar, sustainable design, fibonacci sequence, solar tree

While most 13-year-olds spend their free time playing video games or cruising Facebook, one 7th grader was trekking through the woods uncovering a mystery of science. After studying how trees branch in a very specific way, Aidan Dwyer created a solar cell tree that produces 20-50% more power than a uniform array of photovoltaic panels. His impressive results show that using a specific formula for distributing solar cells can drastically improve energy generation. The study earned Aidan a provisional U.S patent – it’s a rare find in the field of technology and a fantastic example of how biomimicry can drastically improve design.

Read more: 13-Year-Old Makes Solar Power Breakthrough by Harnessing the Fibonacci Sequence | Inhabitat – Green Design Will Save the World

Actions

Information

5 responses

19 08 2011
susan

This is truly interesting. I would love to know more. Wouldn’t it be great to add to your house. Thanks

31 03 2013
Solar Savings

Hi there excellent website! Does running a blog similar to this require a great deal
of work? I’ve virtually no understanding of coding however I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyhow, should you have any suggestions or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic but I simply wanted to ask. Kudos!

20 06 2013
perth solar city

What’s Taking place i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve discovered It absolutely useful
and it has helped me out loads. I’m hoping to contribute & assist different customers like its helped me. Great job.

3 08 2013
Louisa

Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This type of
clever work and exposure! Keep up the great works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll.

8 08 2013
http://barnettquad400.weebly.com

I drop a leave a response when I like a article on a site or if I have something to
contribute to the conversation. Usually it’s triggered by the passion communicated in the article I browsed. And after this article 13-Year-Old Makes Solar Power Breakthrough by Harnessing the Fibonacci Sequence | Innovasians’ Blog.
I was actually moved enough to drop a thought 😛 I actually do
have some questions for you if it’s okay. Could it be only me or do a few of these responses look like coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional online social sites, I would like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you list all of your community pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

